Postpartum

Twenty-two weeks Postpartum and Camping

IMG_5239.JPG

We went camping! I didn’t grow up camping, but I have always liked being outdoors, so I think I could get used to it. Husband, grew up camping, but he much prefers the indoor world, so even though we’ve been married almost four years we haven’t gone camping just us. Then enters Henry. Henry can’t get enough of the outdoors. He’ll stare at the leaves blowing on a nearby tree, then pick grass (and try to eat it), and wiggle his toes in the mud. Just wait until he can catch frogs, splash in puddles, and collect rocks! Camping is right up his alley. So we decided to give camping a try, for his sake.

 

With Husband’s Eagle Scout experience, along with years of family camping trips, it turns out he knew enough about camping to make up for the both of us. We arrived at our site late afternoon, set up the tent while Henry pulled grass, and then pulled out our MRE’s (military meals: Meals Ready to Eat) for dinner. Thanks to our neighbor who shared some MRE’s with us, we didn’t have to plan a camping dinner. It was a hot day, so after dinner we found a nearby swim site and went for a dunk to cool off before bed. Then, Henry settled to sleep in his makeshift bed (a play yard) quite nicely, and that’s when I realized we didn’t bring pillows. Needless to say I listened to Husband and Henry snooze away, the tent flap in the wind. After a few hours decided I needed to use the bathroom. Eventually I resigned to the fact that I wasn’t going to sleep at all. When I woke up in the morning, after five hours of sleep, I was so chipper. I slept! I slept! It was better than nothing.

IMG_5246
Our Happy Little Camper!

The next night we rewarded ourselves with a night in a hotel and all I could say the rest of our trip was, “We did it! We survived camping! I’d do that again.”

 

On our trip there were several times that Husband and I said, “Did you bring…” and the answer was, “no…” We didn’t do a lot of planning for our trip. Oops.

What we forgot to take on our trip:

  • Cutting board and a knife
  • Pillows
  • Henry’s blanket
  • Clothes for Henry (I could have used another outfit or two)
  • My Swim Suit (I left it at home on purpose, but I went swimming 2x on our trip)
  • Umbrellas
  • Water shoes
  • Towels!
  • Back Pack

I’m looking forward to our next camping trip. Maybe early fall? Would you (or have you) gone camping with a baby? 

Leave a Reply

