Pregnancy in Weeks

Pregnancy Week Thirty-Nine and First Contractions PLUS Bump Photos

Edit: this is posting after Baby. I still wanted to share this experience and a final look at my bump progression.

The big excitement for me this week was experiencing my first taste of contractions. Now, before you get misled I need to clarify, these first contractions didn’t lead to labor. They’re called Braxton Hicks Contractions, or Pregnancy Contractions (opposed to Labor Contractions). How do you know they aren’t Labor Contractions? They stop before the baby comes, otherwise there is no way to really know. For me these contractions started out as a weird continual cramping feeling in my abdomen. Hours later I noticed they cycled, hurting for a period, but then easing,  just like what I experience with menstrual cramps. This began at 8pm and stopped around 1am.

I am extremely thankful to have experienced these first contractions, as now I have an idea of what labor might entail. I have also heard every uterus contraction helps prepare my body and the baby for the labor soon to come.

Bump Photos

Last time I posted “Bump Photos” I was twenty-five weeks, so I thought it would be fun to do one final look at how my body changed.

Here I am at eight weeks and nine weeks pregnant and at that point I thought “Wow! I’m getting a bump,” because there was more to my tummy than before. Now, we all look at these photos and laugh, “What tummy!?!”

Nineteen weeks pregnant was a nice time. I had a tummy, but I wasn’t overly huge and it didn’t get in the way. I have had several people say who saw me at this point, that they didn’t realize I was pregnant.

Here at twenty-five weeks, I felt huge. I didn’t realize how much further I had to go!

30 weeks

Here I’m thirty weeks around Christmas time and my clothes options were becoming quite limited. Events where you need to dress up can be quite tricky as a pregnant woman. You want to look nice, but feel comfortable.

Thirty-two weeks pregnant, I finally had a belly perfect for photos!

Here I’m thirty-seven weeks and I wanted to get in more photos before my bump disappeared. At my thirty-nine weeks prenatal appointment my midwife said, “Wow, you are still dressing so cute. Cute shirt, and even cute shoes.” She claimed that by this time in her pregnancy she was wearing sweatpants and slippers. I didn’t tell her, but I thought to myself, “Well, now the only things that truly fit me are the “maternity” clothes I have and they are all on the nicer end of the spectrum.” To be honest my sweatpants and Husband’s size large tee shirts didn’t even fit me anymore.

39 weeks

Thirty-nine weeks, and here I’m dressed for a wedding. I left Husband at home because he was recovering from the stomach flu, but it was nice for me to get out of the house. This is my last photo before Baby! We didn’t quite make it to 40 weeks.

Symptoms

  • Disappearing Belly Button: Husband has disputed that it’s no longer an “innie”, for several weeks.  He said I should call it a “flattie.”
  • Burping: More in general, but especially after I lie down to sleep bubbles form in my throat for some reason.
  • Insomnia: Sleeping is more difficult lately, either I can’t fall asleep, can’t sleep in, or wake up in the middle of the night. It’s a great joy when I can sleep a solid 9 hours like the good old days.
  • Cracking Joints: All day, everyday.
  • Panty Liners: How do I say this discretely? I use this almost everyday now so I don’t have to change my underwear more than once a day.
  • Round Ligament Pain: Since seeing the Chiropractor these have gotten significantly less sore, yay!
  • Hip Flexor Pain: This started many weeks ago now. My left hip flexor starts to hurt really bad after lying down on my side if I don’t have a pillow between my knees. It hindered my workouts for a few weeks, but I’m managing it with pillows and a hip stretch.
  • Easily Startled: Jumpy.
  • Thick Hair: I have experienced less daily hair loss than normal.
  • Forgetfulness: I often forget what I’m saying, while I’m saying it.
  • Loss of Balance: I regularly reach out for something to catch my balance.
  • Shortness of Breath: My lungs are getting squished by Baby.
  • Swelling: my calves and feet swell, in the evening mostly. I’m managing it by elevating my feet for 10-20 minutes before bed, making sure to drink plenty of water during the day, and exercising daily to encourage circulation.

Have you experienced Braxton Hicks? Some women don’t, and they say the more pregnancies you have, the more you experience them.

Leave a Reply

