Pregnancy in Weeks

Pregnancy Week Thirty-Eight and “A Day in the Life”

A day in my life… A day in the life of a blogger… A day in the life of a pregnant woman two weeks before her due date… A day in the life of a Virtual Assistant… A day in the life of a House Wife… Whatever this is, I wanted to write a “day in the life” blog. I thought it’d be fun and it was. I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I did writing it!

Monday: It’s the start of the “work week,” the weekend is over and things need to get done.

img_4378

9am Wake up. Husband and I woke up an hour later than we normally do. Husband always wakes up by 8am or sooner, so the past month I decided what’s the point in me using an alarm clock? I guess we needed 10 hours of sleep we got last night, what a nice surprise!

9:30am Workout. I had to be quick since I was an hour behind schedule, so I did half the workout I intended to do.  I am proud of myself that I actually did my workout though. When I am running late working out tends to get cut.

Breakfast. Precooked Pumpkin Quinoa that I heated in the microwave, drizzled with honey, and splashed with milk. It’s similar to oatmeal. I ate much quicker than normal. I usually sit at the table for 20 minutes or more enjoying my food, writing a to do list, and preparing for my day. Not today.

Shower. No time for makeup or doing my hair this morning. I try to put some effort in a few times a week, but if I am running late or feel exhausted I skip this step in my morning routine.

10:15am Chiropractor Appointment. Even though I did my morning routine faster than ever, I was still running late. Thankfully they are only 10 minutes from my house. I look forward to visiting the chiropractor because it’s helped manage my third trimester pregnancy symptoms.

11am Snack. Grapes and mixed nuts.

Cook. I usually make a soup and a breakfast dish Monday mornings, however, since going to the chiropractor Monday’s and the extra fatigue brought by the third trimester of my pregnancy I’ve only been making one dish. Today I prioritized soup, but I really wanted to make breakfast too. Maybe tomorrow… I made crock-pot minestrone. It will feed us lunch for four days.

img_4370

 

Rest. I was worn out, so I laid down for 10 minutes.

12:30pm Walk. Husband and I (try to) go for a walk every day for about 30 minutes. It was raining all day, so we wore boots and took an umbrella.

1pm Lunch. Usually we eat before walking, but I asked Husband if we could reverse it today. Chicken Pot Pie soup for lunch today (the minestrone wasn’t ready yet), that I made last Friday. I really like making food in bulk and reheating leftovers for days. It’s my jam.

Pills. I have a ginormous pill container and every two weeks I fill it with all my pills. Today, it needed to be filled. I have so many pills, Husband and I had a good laugh about it over lunch. They are all “prescribed” by my naturopathic doctor. Some of them are leftover treatment from my previous chronic health condition that the doctor told me to finish. When I had a chronic health condition I learned the benefits of taking certain supplements, and so now I am hooked. There are many I will take until forever. An example of a few things I plan take for a long-time: a prenatal pill (nutrients for pregnancy and breastfeeding), vitamin D (because I am fair skinned and live in the north and my doctor said it’s the best defense against the flu and colds!), fish oil (omega 3’s for general health and the recommended DHA for baby), probiotics (another general health thing).

img_4371

1:30pm Dishes. Husband needed to rush off to a business appointment, so I did the dishes alone. I did dishes from cooking a fresh batch of soup and from our lunch. I am spoiled, because almost every day Husband does our dishes after lunch and dinner. I help, but he spoils me. I was tired today and it felt like it took all my strength to stay focused on doing the dishes and to not lie down until I finished.

2pm Rest. The third trimester is tiring! I lie down and rest often.

3pm Virtual Assistant. Today I was finishing my projects.I am officially done and on “maternity leave,” woot! However, being a sub-contractor, if I don’t work I don’t get paid, so it’s really not that exciting. Ha!

Snack Break. Peanut butter and apple. I have eaten so much peanut butter during my pregnancy! Husband laughs and says, “Are you having any apple with that peanut butter?” I unashamedly glob on the peanut butter and am known to eat another spoonful or two of solid peanut butter if I am still hungry afterward.

img_4368

5:30pm Rest. Usually we eat dinner at this time, but neither of us were motivated to be eating by 5:30pm and again third trimester fatigue.

6pm Dinner. Leftovers again. I seriously ate “leftovers” for breakfast, lunch and dinner today. And that’s normal. It’s what we do at our house. Today it was kale lentil bowls, with an avocado dressing, chopped almonds, and quality sharp cheddar.

After Dinner Activities. Today this included me writing this blog post while Husband had a video game date with a friend. This is the first time I have written a blog post after dinner, but I was so excited to write!

9:30pm Bedtime Routine. This included eating a bedtime snack, brushing my teeth, washing my face, rubbing coconut oil on my belly, stretching to relax my muscles, and elevating my feet to relieve swelling.

10:30pm Sleep.

37-weeks-4
37 Weeks Belly Pic (I don’t remember to take my belly photos very often)

Symptoms

  • Disappearing Belly Button: Husband has disputed that it’s no longer an “innie”, for several weeks.  He said I should call it a “flattie.”
  • Burping: More in general, but especially after I lie down to sleep bubbles form in my throat for some reason.
  • Insomnia: Sleeping is more difficult lately, either I can’t fall asleep, can’t sleep in, or wake up in the middle of the night. It’s a great joy when I can sleep a solid 9 hours like the good old days.
  • Cracking Joints: All day, everyday.
  • Panty Liners: How do I say this discretely? I use this almost everyday now so I don’t have to change my underwear more than once a day.
  • Round Ligament Pain: Since seeing the Chiropractor these have gotten significantly less sore, yay!
  • Hip Flexor Pain: This started many weeks ago now. My left hip flexor starts to hurt really bad after lying down on my side if I don’t have a pillow between my knees. It hindered my workouts for a few weeks, but I’m managing it with pillows and a hip stretch.
  • Easily Startled: Jumpy.
  • Thick Hair: I have experienced less daily hair loss than normal.
  • Forgetfulness: I often forget what I’m saying, while I’m saying it.
  • Loss of Balance: I regularly reach out for something to catch my balance.
  • Shortness of Breath: My lungs are getting squished by Baby.
  • Swelling: my calves and feet swell, in the evening mostly. I’m managing it by elevating my feet for 10-20 minutes before bed, making sure to drink plenty of water during the day, and exercising daily to encourage circulation.
In pregnancy do you find yourself taking several rest breaks throughout the day? 
Leave a Reply

