Pregnancy in Weeks

Pregnancy Week Seventeen and Gender Reveal!

ZZI582DSTA.jpg

Due to past health issues I was under examination as to whether or not I would be allowed to give birth at this birth center. It felt very unnerving to not know if I was welcome until just this week, but I understand that they wanted to make sure Baby and I will get the medical care we need. Thankfully, after meeting with the birth center’s head doctor it was determined it is unlikely that my past health issues would affect my labor and delivery and I can continue my planning to deliver at the birth center. Sigh of relief!

AYSVGBFCHG.jpg

As a result of seeing the head doctor, I received an unexpected ultrasound (See my other ultrasound pics here!). I am thinking he wanted to verify that baby looked healthy as well as getting another guess at the due date, but he didn’t actually say that. From my LMP (Last Menstrual Period) the guess for my due date is early March, but from the ultra sound he suggested the due date could be earlier like late February. So, either baby will come on Husband’s birthday, my dad’s birthday, or somewhere in-between. I never knew how much of a guess “due dates” were until getting pregnant!

1-2-410-200001-101-11-30601-1242380920-3-20160920143222113

Not only did the doctor find that all is well, he also was able to share that we’re having a boy!  We were so excited to know. I for one needed to know because, as Husband would adamantly agree, I’m a planner and don’t do well with surprises. Surprises stress me out, even good ones, ha! We’re happy to be preparing for a baby boy. I would love to have both a girl and a boy, eventually, but having a boy is a great start.

Symptoms

Nails: my nails are growing so fast. (I wrote more about this here)
Tired: I sleep 9hrs nightly. I get an afternoon low, but overall I have plenty of energy.
Vivid Dreams: every night it’s like going to the movie theater for 9hrs.
Maternity clothes: fewer and fewer pants are fitting. I use my Bella band regularly. My shirts are still fitting, but I need to get new bras ASAP.
Bump: it’s growing!

Notes

Now that I know we’re having a boy I feel like I can finally start planning the baby room. At the same time I think it’s kind of ridiculous that knowing it’s a boy gives me a “go ahead”, because I plan to keep most everything gender neutral for the sake of future babies that may or may not be boys. Plus, there are so many great colors out there, I don’t feel a need to rely heavily upon blue or pink. Did you know that at one point American culture ascribed pink to boys and blue to girls? It’s kind of funny how strongly of an association we put on colors. Not to say I don’t think a baby girl dressed in a pink tutu isn’t adorable.

17qw4i2clu

In the processes of deciding what will go into our nursery and dreaming up how to arrange it all I finally came to terms with the fact that I am not a phenomenal interior designer. After spending several hours planning, and seeming to get nowhere with ideas for making our space cute, I gave in and I mourned my lack of an eye for fashion, design, and interior decorating. Baby won’t care, he won’t even notice, so that frees me to focus on the things I am good at (Read more about letting go of unrealistic expectations and the idea that”baby won’t care” here). So, I’m sticking to the basics: I’m planning to give the baby room a fresh coat of paint in a light neutral color, then I plan to find a crib and dresser to match, and I’ll use the dresser as a changing table. I may or may not put anything on the wall, that’s above my pay-grade!

Do you like knowing if it will be a boy or a girl, or would you rather be surprised?

One thought on “Pregnancy Week Seventeen and Gender Reveal!

Leave a Reply

