Uncategorized

Flavor of the week: Cinnamon Coconut Chia Seed Pudding

I really like cooking, some days more than others. After getting married I have learned the importance of pleasing others taste buds and not just my own. You see, Husband is really quite spoiled. His family taught him growing up to celebrate with good food, real good food, and to savor every bite. I’m talking the smoked-salmon, gourmet-cheeses, and homemade baked-goods standard. My premarital nutrition-focused cooking needed to learn a thing or two about adding salt, spices, and fat to satisfy Husband’s taste preferences. Honestly, only my own flavor-starved taste buds delighted in my cooking. Now, I cannot live without balanced flavors and exquisite tastes.

chia-pudding-ingredients

I present to you a recipe Husband’s cousin fed to us during our recent vacation: Cinnamon Coconut Chia Seed Pudding. She served it to us as a breakfast and it went nicely with fresh fruit mixed in. I’ve made this pudding twice in the last week and plan to make it again as soon as I can buy the ingredients! I have eaten it as a morning and afternoon snack, but it would also serve well as a dessert with additional sweetener.

measuring-spoons

In the past, I have tried to make chia seed pudding, but it tasted bland and was way too thick. I love the combination of flavors in this recipe; cinnamon and coconut are delicious! I also find the consistency to be perfect for me and my near sea-level elevation. If you are considerably higher than sea-level you’ll need to add liquid to get the same consistency.

Cinnamon Coconut Chia Seed Pudding: Serves 2

  • 1/4cup  chia seeds
  • 1 can (about 10oz) coconut milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbps maple syrup
  • Pinch of salt

Stir well. Let sit 15min or refrigerate overnight. If too firm you may add more liquid to desired consistency. Add additional sweetener to taste if enjoying as a dessert.

Try it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

